Famagusta is located in the eastern part of Cyprus, in the bay that bears its name. Ancient Famagusta was named Salamis. It was later renamed Arsinoe and Constantia. Its Greek Cypriot residents were expelled in 1974 by the Turkish army and today reside in the cities and villages of the free part of Cyprus. From the 4th century AD it is referred to by this name (Famagusta), which literally means the city buried in sand. Indeed, Famagusta was a world-renowned tourist resort between 1960 and 1974 because of its golden sandy beach. Famagusta is also the capital of the homonymous province of Cyprus which in 1974 numbered over 40,000 inhabitants.

To find out more visit the Famagusta Municipality website.